Paul Francis Electric/Upright Bass player Backing Vocalist

Click here to edit subtitle

Capricorn 1 Funky Alchemy Out Now 

The tracks for "Funky alchemy" were originally written by myself Harbens Shrih, Dave O'higgins and Mick Talbot from The Style Council and were recorded in 1990 for Eddie Pillar at Acid Jazz Records.These sessions were intended to be a follow up to a to the album Open Channel D by Whats What and "Totally wired "

I was exited to discover that the BBC have been using one of mine and Harbens shrih's tunes from the Capricorn 1 album. "Funky Alchemy"

Swanage Jazz Festival  2019 

Capricorn 1 at The Lyme Regis Jazz Festival 2019 

For those that don't know Capricorn 1, is led by Electric/upright Bassist Paul Lawrence Francis.They are an instrumental band playing original tunes and reinterpretations of some great classics. Our music has a mix the influences we love and the set spans many genres including Rock funk Jazz and world music.....

" I feel we've written compositions that combine both cerebral and emotional content to create a unique fusion of sonic beauty "
 Looking into the future Paul would like to get the cd done and has plans to gig with other musicians within the project

Finally and I'm only mentioning this because I just want clarify our professionalism rather than name dropping.The collective history of the band has encompassed Mark King Paul Gilbert Paul Weller Mike Mangini Antonio Sanchez Roachford Bill Wyman and Nigel Kennedy) to name a few, but I'm well aware that your only really as good as your last gig !

So come and check us out !!

Jazz Jurassica - Lyme’s very own festival of jazz - is a musical must for the Spring Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May, with over 20 acts, featuring jazz, blues and fusion in a four day wrap-around, music-filled weekend. With a rolling programme of free concerts on the seafront and elsewhere, B Sharp’s Busking Festival, as well as headline acts at Marine Theatre, plus the ever-popular BBQ and Brunch, the festival is the ultimate jazz weekender by the sea.
Keep visiting for further updates, follow us on Twitter @lymejazzfest or visit our website


Zoe Schwarz Blue Commotion 

  • What a singer! What a band! At their best Zoe Schwarz Blue Commotion are right up there with the giants of jazz and blues. Smooth and mellow, raw and raunchy, they can seamlessly switch gear in the blink of an eye."
    Jeremy Miles, Do More Magazine, South coast Jun 2015
  • “Luckily for us there are still music artists out there that like to solely follow their instinct”
    Gio Pilato

Liam White Little Big Band

Iv'e had the opportunity to work with Liam's Big Band over the last couple of years.Liam White is a 22 year old singer, songwriter, entertainer, arranger & producer from the small village of Ashurst, situated in the heart of the New Forest National Park in Hampshire. 

His main love of music lies within Swing, Big Band, Soul, Rock'n'Roll, Easy Listening Ballads and Boogie Woogie - 'if it's got a swing, you're listening to the right thing!' 


After making three albums and a few singles the Bristol-based combo faded away. Nick Sheppard previously played in The Cortinas and The Clash. Gareth Sager previously played in The Pop Group, and in Rip Rig + Panic with Neneh Cherry.

Although they never achieved major sales they are now belatedly acknowledged as a forerunner of today's trip hop scene.[1]

The title of the second album is a reference to Tales of Ordinary Madness, a film based on the work of poet Charles Bukowski.

  • A Snog on the Rocks (1987)[2]
  • Tales of Ordinary Madness (1988)
  • Intoxicator (1989)
  • Rich Beale ("Clevedon Pier") - lead vocals[3]
  • Gareth Sager ("Hank Sinclair") - guitar, keyboards, most songwriting[3]
  • Nick Sheppard ("Chopper Harris", "Candy Horsebreath") - guitar[3]
  • Paul Francis ("Cheese jackson ")-Bass Guitar
  • Plastic Bag (Jamie Hill) - drums[3]
  • Mark Taylor - bass[3]

London Beat

Londonbeat's career started in the Netherlands where "There's a Beat Going On" reached the Top 10, and then "9 A.M (The Comfort Zone)" which subsequently became a modest success in the United Kingdom. They are best known for their song "I've Been Thinking About You", which hit Number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and the Hot Dance Music/Club Play charts in 1991, and for their close harmonies. Their follow-up single, "A Better Love", became a Billboard Hot 100 Top 20 hit, and they returned to Number 1 on the dance chart with "Come Back" (Hot 100 number 62).

In 1995, Londonbeat entered the UK heats of the Eurovision Song Contest with "I'm Just Your Puppet on a ... (String)". With Band members Darryl Abraham Drums Paul Francis Bass Simon Ellis Keys..However, they were not selected to enter the main contest (losing out to rap group Love City Groove) and the single stalled at Number 55 on the UK Singles Chart.

In 2003, Londonbeat re-grouped with a new lineup and signed to German record label Coconut. An album called Back in the Hi-Life featured re-recordings of "A Better Love" and "I've Been Thinking About You" among the new tracks.

Marc Goldschmitz left the band in 2004. Currently living in Berlin, he now plays guitar in the band Leash.[3]

In 2011, Londonbeat were featured on two tracks on The Crossing (Expansion Records) by Brazilian pianist Eumir Deodato, the title track (with guest percussionist Paco Sery) and "No Getting Over You".

In 2019, Londonbeat collaborated with German DJ, Klaas, who remixed Londonbeat's number one hit "I've Been Thinking About You". The remix is currently Top 10 in the Billboard Dance Charts.

Paul Weller on Wiki

In 1989, Weller found himself without a band and without a recording deal for the first time since he was 17. After taking time off throughout 1990, he returned to the road in 1991, touring as "The Paul Weller Movement" with long-term drummer and friend Steve White, Paul Francis (session bassist from The James Taylor Quartet) . After a slow start playing small clubs with a mixture of Jam/Style Council classics as well as showcasing new material such as "Into Tomorrow", by the time of the release of his 1992 LP, Paul Weller, he had begun to re-establish himself as a leading British singer-songwriter. This self-titled album saw a return to a more jazz-guitar-focused sound, featuring samplesand a funk influence with shades of the Style Council sound. The album also featured a new producer, Brendan Lynch. Tracks such as "Here's a New Thing" and "That Spiritual Feeling" were marketed among the emerging acid jazzscene.

The Steve Hillage Band

Stephen Simpson Hillage (born 2 August 1951) is an English musician, best known as a guitarist. He is associated with the  and has worked in experimental domains since the late 1960s. Besides his solo records he has been a member of Gong Khan and System 7

In 1978 Hillage played onstage with punk band Sham 69 during their performance at the Reading Festival and in 1979, he played guitar on "Nuclear Waste" by The Radio Actors with lead vocals by Sting.

Also in 1979 Hillage released Open on Virgin Records, featuring Dave Stewart, Jean-Philippe Rykiel, Paul Francis and Andy Anderson.


This interview was done for an american website ( Steve formans music forum )via skype and probably due to a loss in translation and my drinking comes across a little imbecilic,I really am a lot more literate,honestly